Tournament history.

BMW Masters and BMW Asian Open.

As of the 2012 season, BMW presents the golfing world with a new highlight – the BMW Masters. The sport's top stars assemble at Shanghai's Lake Malaren Golf Club, where they will fight it out for a share of the seven million dollar prize purse. The tournament continues a tradition: as far back as the start of the millennium, BMW was one of the first brands in the world to promote and encourage the growing enthusiasm for the sport in Asia. The company responded to the growth in popularity by organising a professional tournament: the BMW Asian Open, which was also held in Shanghai.

BMW Masters

Image %{cur} of %{total}

Four years after the final edition of the BMW Asian Open, BMW continues its commitment to golf in China. Eckhard Wannieck, Head of Sponsoring, Cooperations and Product Placement at BMW says: „As the name indicates, the BMW Masters will play an important role in our global golf strategy and is the perfect addition to our worldwide commitment. We are delighted to be able to present our customers and spectators with the strongest field assembled at any professional golf tournament in Asia and golf of the highest standard – both from a sporting and spectator experience point of view. We observed the Asian golf market closely, in order to find the ideal opportunity to set a new course. With the BMW Masters in Shanghai, we have achieved an exclusive framework, which will allow BMW fans in Asia to experience the BMW brand on an emotional level.”

In 2012, the inaugural BMW Masters at Shanghai’s Lake Malaren Golf Club was won by Sweden’s Peter Hanson. The 37-year-old finish ahead of an exceptionally strong field with a score of -21. As such, Hanson becomes the first man to have his name engraved on the prestigious BMW Masters trophy. Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy finished runner-up on –20, ahead of world number three Luke Donald (-17) in third place. The quartet of Ryder Cup stars at the top of the leaderboard was completed by Ian Poulter (-16), whose round of 65 was the lowest of the final day.

The winner of the 2013 BMW Masters is Spain’s Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño. The man from Madrid carded a final round of 68 (-4) to triumph at the inaugural event on the European Tour’s new Final Series. The 33-year-old ended the prestigious tournament with a score of -11 (277 shots) – one ahead of his closest rivals Francesco Molinari (ITA, -10) and Thongchai Jaidee (THA, -10) who finished tied in the runner-up spot. Fernández-Castaño joins compatriot Miguel Angel Jiménez as one of just two players to have tasted success at three BMW events.

Germany’s Marcel Siem produced the shot of his life to claim victory in a three-man play-off against Alexander Levy (France) and Ross Fisher (England) at the 2014 BMW Masters. Siem, who started the day trailing Levy by five strokes, had a two-metre putt for victory in regulation play, but pushed the ball wide of the hole. Undeterred, he then compensated for his missed chance by spectacularly chipping in for a birdie at the first extra hole, the 18th, with his rivals on the green and waiting to putt. Neither player could match him.

BMW Asian Open

Image %{cur} of %{total}

The first BMW Asian Open was held at the Ta Shee Golf & Country Club in Taiwan. As the tournament actually belonged to the 2002 season, however, it is officially known as the BMW Asian Open 2002. The inaugural winner was Sweden's Jarmo Sandelin, who finished one shot ahead of Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand) and José Maria Olazábal (Spain). One year later, Ireland's Padraig Harrington won the 2003 BMW Asian Open at the same venue.

In 2004 the BMW Asian Open moved house: from 13th to 16th May the tournament was held at the Tomson Shanghai Pudong Golf Club in China for the first time. Miguel Ángel Jiménez emerged triumphant. In doing so, the Spaniard laid the foundation for his unique "hat-trick": titles at three different BMW Tournaments – a feat that is yet to be repeated. Jiménez also won the BMW International Open in Munich in 2004, before "The Mechanic" triumphed at the 2008 BMW PGA Championship in Wentworth.

The 2005 BMW Asian Open was dominated by the extraordinary craftsmanship of Ernie Els. "The Big Easy" claimed the title ahead of Simon Wakefield with a record score of 26 under par. The South African's breathtaking superiority at this tournament was underlined by his winning margin of 13 shots over the second-placed Brit.

2006 was a much closer affair and boiled down to a play-off between Sweden's Henrik Stenson and Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño of Spain. The young Spaniard came out on top. This victory was largely responsible for him being named the "Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year" in that year. Stenson made amends just months later, winning the 2006 BMW International Open – in a play-off.

Frenchman Raphael Jacquelin led from start to finish at the 2007 BMW Asian Open. Jacquelin withstood the challenge of Denmark's Soren Kjeldsen to win with a score of 10 under par.

The 2008 BMW Asian Open witnessed an emotional final day: Darren Clarke had gone five years without a win on the European Tour, and it took a spectacular putt from twelve metres on the final green to end his winless streak. The Northern Irishman beat Holland's Robert-Jan Djerksen, and has since gone on to become a Major winner.